top of page

Combating the winter blues


Panhandle Trail. Washington County.

It gets pretty gloomy around these parts this time of year. When I go to the gym in the morning, it's dark. When I come home from work in the evening, it's dark. Sometimes I don't see the sun for weeks. Staying motivated and in a productive mood is a lot harder during the winter season. So, how do I plan to combat the winter blues?

If anyone knows me - they know I'm a planner. I'm going to make sure my weekends are planned with outings with friends, photo shoots, or even just planning a night in with a good movie & a cup of hot tea. If I'm making plans to do the things I enjoy doing, it will help keep me busy & help keep the winter weeks moving quickly.

Staying motivated is truly the hard part. It's cold out - I don't want to get out of my warm bed in the morning to go to the gym or work - I want to lay in bed all morning & wake up slowly with a hot cup of coffee. But making sure you're sticking with your goals for this quarter of the year will be the most important in staying motivated. Creating a goal or two should be your first step!

Enjoy the sun while it's out. Go outside even if it's cold (okay, not if it's like single digits, but if it's in the 30s.. head outside: shop, make plans with friends, etc). Make sure you're doing something you love!

<3 Until next time,

C

bottom of page