top of page

When insecurity rears it's ugly head...


Heyyyya everyone! Not-so-shamelessly added a selfie of myself cause I was really feelin' myself Sunday morning. Anywayyyys :) I hope ya'll enjoyed your long weekend (if you were lucky enough to have one). I was able to be SO productive & I couldn't be happier about it.

Saturday morning Pittsburgh woke up to a snow storm, so I took the opportunity to make 6 trips to the dumpster & de-clutter my apartment. Mentally I haven't been feeling the greatest the last few months - & the state of my apartment shows it. I was finally able to kick the negative feelings out, therefore it was time to do a serious clean up job in my living quarters. I headed to Wal-Mart to pick up storage bins & I put my shoe rack together! Two to-do's checked off!

Sunday afternoon was a low-key day. I met up with my friend Kristen at Blaze Pizza & talked about our upcoming semesters at Cal U. Girl time was much needed!

Today I got in a great work-out at FASTER & I had a follow up appointment with my chiropractor. I had a headache for 3 straight days last week & was still feeling super sore. Dr. Leach to the rescue! He's the best. In the afternoon, I met up with a local photographer at Buttermilk Falls in Beaver County. Here's where the title of this post comes from...

First off - this place is super beautiful & I plan on coming back in the spring/summer. I'm a sucker for anything to do with water & this one didn't disappoint! So, let me remind you that I only picked up a camera mid December & I've been trying to learn & practice as much as possible! I only recently started to feel insecure by following all of these AMAZING artists on social media (guys, social media can kind of rob you & make you think you suck when you definitely DO NOT). I was lucky enough to make friends with a photographer that has some killer talent (peep his IG, ya'll. It's dark, it's gritty... I'm obsessed with his work. @non.extant). I'm definitely not normally a shy person but I essentially was too insecure to shoot anything. It's super intimidating to put myself out there, & especially with something I love as much as photography! Thankfully he is super humble & non-judgmental. Everyone has to start somewhere. :)

Thankfully I was wearing my new hiking shoes from Pacific Mountain Outdoor.. they worked perfectly in the deep snow! While Nick was sliding all over the place (sorry Nick haha!), I felt super secure & the only reason I slid a few times was due to the ice. Recommend these to anyone! After we got done at the falls, we hiked a little ways up to some train tracks & this abandoned house. I only wish we got to go in!

So happy I braved the cold - I've never done any hiking in the snow & it was so fun! Next time I shoot with anyone - it's my goal to RELAX & just go with the flow... it's supposed to be fun! Nothing has to be perfect. Everything is a learning process. Just like life =)

<3 C

bottom of page